LSA Senior nominated for Congress of Future Medical Leaders

Luther School Association student Kyra Clark will represent her school during a three-day Congress honors-only program in June.

Clark, a senior at LSA in Decatur, will act as a delegate to the Congress of Future Medical Leaders in Lowell, Massachusetts from June 25 to 27.

The Congress is an honors-only program for high school students who want to become physicians or go into medical research fields. This event is meant to honor, inspire, motivate and direct the top students in the country who aspire to take part in this career field to stay true to their dream and, after the event, to provide a path, plan and resources to help them reach that goal.

Clark will join students from across the country and hear Nobel Laureates and National Media of Science Winners speak about leading medical research; be given advice from Ivy League and top medical school deans on what to expect in medical school; witness stories told by patients who are living medical miracles; be inspired by fellow teen medical science prodigies; and learn about cutting-edge advances and the future in medicine and medical technology.

Event officials say this is a crucial time for the country to prepare future doctors and medical scientists for their futures.

“Focused, bright and determined students like Kyra Clark are our future, and she deserves all the mentoring and guidance we can give her,” says Richard Rossi, Executive Director of the National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists.

The Academy offers free services and programs to students who want to be physicians or go into medical science. It also helps students network by finding opportunities and mentors.

Clark was nominated by Dr. Robert Darling, the Medical Director of the Academy to represent her school based on her academic achievement, leadership potential and determination to serve humanity in the field of medicine. She plans to study pharmaceutical science after she graduates high school in the spring of 2017.